Went to the fire company around 8pm yesterday for a scheduled standby for the fireworks. Had folks from our two mutual aid companies come out to assist us as well. I had signed up to ride on the Squad, but as there was no driver for it, I got to go on Engine 2 instead.
We went down to the field where they were setup to shoot the fireworks off from, and got a briefing from the lead fireworks guy. He wanted to be sure that, if something went wrong, we wouldn't come onto the field until he asked for us, as they would know better when it was safe for us to come over; (apparently they're better practiced at running and ducking than we are). He also said not to worry if he was running around with his hat caught on fire. (!?)
We were still pretty close, maybe 100 yards away, and once they started, the fireworks were almost going off over our heads. They started at 9:30pm, and ended somewhere around 10pm. I was pretty glad our IC gave us ear protection; it was fairly loud even with that.
All in all, nothing unusual happened, and we returned to the station shortly after the show finished.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment